Skip to main content

Do you know of an outstanding teacher, mentor, or teaching assistant who:

  • has inspired you at Carolina?
  • has helped you learn, grow, and become excited about your education?
  • goes above and beyond for their students?

Each year, our campus recognizes some of the outstanding teachers and mentors here at Carolina through several distinct University Teaching Awards. There are six main types of awards with specific nomination criteria that highlight the value and central role of teaching excellence by faculty, staff, and graduate teaching assistants across our campus.

Nomination Procedure and Deadline
Nominations are accepted online year-round. The University Teaching Awards Committee will meet each fall semester to review the nominees, collect additional information about their teaching, and recommend winners to the Chancellor. The deadline to submit a nomination for Spring 2021 is September 16, 2020.

To Submit a Nomination

  1. Identify which award fits best for the teacher you have in mind. You can review the eligibility criteria and flow chart provided on the Provost’s website HERE.
  2. Review the list of previous winners to ensure they have not received the award recently.
  3. Prepare a nomination letter or statement with specific examples and stories that display the nominee’s care for students, mentorship, and/or effective use of teaching methods. This will help the committee understand why your nominee is the best candidate for the award. A nomination letter or statement must be included or the online submission is invalid and will not be considered.
  4. Submit your nomination at the University Teaching Awards website.


Types of Awards

  1. Board of Governors’ Award for Excellence in Teaching:
    The Board of Governors gives this award to a tenured faculty member on each campus of the UNC System for excellent and exceptional undergraduate teaching over a sustained period of time.
  2. Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement:
    This award acknowledges lifetime contributions to teaching, learning and mentoring beyond the classroom.
  3. Distinguished Teaching Awards for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction:
    Four awards are given to faculty members for exceptional teaching of post-baccalaureate students.
  4. Tanner Awards to Graduate Teaching Assistants:
    Five Tanner Awards are given to graduate teaching assistants for excellence in undergraduate teaching.
  5. Chapman Family Teaching Awards:
    Three or four Chapman Family Awards are given to full-time faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching.
  6. Awards to Faculty for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching:
    Three awards to full-time faculty members.

    1. Tanner Awards (5)
    2. Friday Award (1)
    3. Sitterson Awards (2)

Nominations for the Johnston Teaching Excellence Awards, which recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching, are available through the Johnston Scholars in the Johnston Program.

For more information about any of the University Teaching Awards, contact:

Debbie Deese
Office of the Provost
CB# 3000, 104 South Building
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3000
Phone: 919-962-7882