Skip to main content

Each year, the University recognizes faculty, staff, and students for outstanding teaching.

Submit a Nomination       Previous Award Winners

The University Committee on Teaching Awards strongly encourages you to nominate deserving faculty members and graduate teaching assistants for distinguished teaching awards. Please read the award requirements carefully to determine eligibility and provide comments in the nomination to help the committee understand why your nominee is the best candidate for the award.

Nominations are accepted year-round, but please note that the deadline for the Spring 2023 awards is September 17, 2022. The University Teaching Awards Committee meets in the fall to review nominees, collect additional information about their teaching, and recommend winners to the Chancellor.

This year, the committee will recommend recipients for six types of awards.

  1. Board of Governors’ Award for Excellence in Teaching: The Board of Governors gives this award to a tenured faculty member on each campus of the UNC System for excellent and exceptional undergraduate teaching over a sustained period of time.
  2. Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement: This award acknowledges lifetime contributions to teaching, learning, and mentoring beyond the classroom.
  3. Distinguished Teaching Awards for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction: Four awards are given to faculty members for exceptional teaching of post-baccalaureate students.
  4. Tanner Awards to Graduate Teaching Assistants: Five Tanner Awards are given to graduate teaching assistants for excellence in undergraduate teaching.
  5. Chapman Family Teaching Awards: Three or four Chapman Family Awards are given to full-time faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching.
  6. Awards to Faculty for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching: Four different awards are available to full-time faculty members.
    1. Tanner Awards (5 recipients)
    2. Friday Award (1 recipient)
    3. Sitterson Awards (2 recipients)
    4. Johnston Awards (2 recipients)

For more information about UNC-Chapel Hill Teaching Awards, please contact Trisha Bienvenu at