Skip to main content

Johnston Teaching Excellence Awards

Two winners will receive $5,000 and a framed citation.

Submit a Nomination

Origin of the Award

The awards were created in 1991 to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching.  The awards are funded by the James M. Johnston Scholarship Program.


  • Any teacher of undergraduate students who is a full-time faculty member (tenured or tenure-track) is eligible. This includes teachers in Health Affairs, Academic Affairs, and professional schools. Fixed-term faculty members (e.g. lecturers and clinical professors) are eligible if they have taught at UNC-Chapel Hill for at least five years. Visiting faculty members are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be teaching in the academic year in which they are selected.
  • Individuals who have won a Johnston award in the last five years are not eligible. Check the list of previous winners to be sure.

Selection procedure

  • The subcommittee will choose two winners for the Johnston Awards. The subcommittee coordinates with the Tanner and Sitterson Committee Liaison.
  • The subcommittee should meet before this year’s set deadline to select finalists.
  • Interviews should be scheduled with finalists’ department chairs in Fall 2021.