Skip to main content

Tanner Award for Undergraduate Teaching

Each of the five winners receives a one-time stipend of $ 7,500 and a framed citation.

Submit a Nomination

Origin of the Awards

The awards were created in 1952 with a bequest by Kenneth Spencer Tanner, class of 1911, and his sister, Sara Tanner Crawford (and by them on behalf of their deceased brothers, Simpson Bobo Tanner, Jr. and Jesse Spencer Tanner), establishing an endowment fund in memory of their parents, Lola Spencer and Simpson Bobo Tanner. The award was established to recognize excellence in inspirational teaching of undergraduate students, particularly first- and second-year students.


  • Any teacher of undergraduate students who is a full-time faculty member (tenured or tenure-track) is eligible. This includes teachers in Health Affairs, Academic Affairs, and professional schools. Fixed-term faculty members (e.g. lecturers and clinical professors) are eligible if they have taught at UNC-Chapel Hill for at least five years. Visiting faculty members are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be teaching in the academic year in which they are selected.
  • Individuals who have won a Tanner award in the last five years are not eligible. Check the list of previous winners to be sure.

Selection procedure

  • The committee screens applications and selects finalists for further consideration.
  • Screening of finalists may include interviews with deans or department chairs, reading of student evaluations, and telephone interviews of randomly selected students.
  • The committee will forward its recommendations to the Chancellor.