Skip to main content

Sitterson Award for Teaching First-Year Students

Two winners will receive a one-time stipend of $5,000 and a framed citation.

Submit a Nomination

Origin of the Award

These awards were created in 1998 by the family of the late J. Carlyle Sitterson to recognize excellence in teaching first-year students by a tenured or tenure-track faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences.  Lyle Sitterson was a Kenan Professor of History and Chancellor of the University from 1966-72 and was a passionate advocate for inspired teaching of first-year students. The first award was given in 2000.


  • These awards are restricted to faculty members in the College of Arts and Sciences who teach first-year students for at least part of their teaching responsibility. Tenured/tenured track or fixed-term faculty members (e.g. lecturers and clinical professors) are eligible if they have taught at UNC-Chapel Hill for at least five years. Visiting faculty members are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be teaching in the academic year in which they are selected.
  • Individuals who have won a Sitterson award in the last five years are not eligible. Check the list of previous winners to be sure.

Selection procedure

  • The committee screens applications and selects finalists for further consideration and works with a special committee of the College of Arts and Sciences to choose the winner.
  • Screening of finalists may include interviews with deans or department chairs, reading of student evaluations, and telephone interviews of randomly selected students.
  • The committee will forward its recommendations to the Chancellor.