Skip to main content

Tanner Award for Graduate Teaching Assistance

Each of the five winners receives a one-time stipend of $5,000 and a framed citation.

Submit a Nomination

Origin of the Award

In 1990, the University expanded the purview of the Tanner Awards to recognize excellence in the teaching of undergraduates by graduate teaching assistants.


  • The nominee must be a graduate teaching assistant in the year in which he or she is nominated.
  • Individuals who have won a Tanner award in the last five years are not eligible. Check the list of previous winners to be sure.

Selection Procedure

  • The subcommittee will select five winners.
  • The subcommittee should meet before this year’s set deadline to select finalists.
  • Interviews should be scheduled with finalists’ department chairs in the Fall 2021.